Kielbasa z Kapusta Kwaszona (Polish Sausage with Sauerkraut)

on

I’ve posted some pretty classic Hungarian dishes, and now it’s time to recognize my other half. What better way to honor my unignorably round face than some Polish sausage and sauerkraut?

This dish is awesome because I use a crock pot. Who doesn’t love being able to throw some food into a pot and ignore it all day until it becomes dinner? Easy peasy. Here’s what you’ll need:

kielbasa ingredients

kielbasa ingredients 2

I’ve always thought it would be way better if I made my own sauerkraut. I could truly feel one with the cabbage. If you know how to make your own kraut, please do! For those who don’t, I used bagged sauerkraut.

If you noticed the weight in grams (in the U.S.? Get that out of here!), that’s because a lot of bagged sauerkraut is found in polish delis or international supermarkets. Don’t be afraid, I’m here to help! 28 grams= 1 oz. 16 oz.= 1lb. So 1lb of sauerkraut is 448 grams. The bags I buy come with shredded carrot in its own juices. Personally, I like the little bits of carrot in there.

On that note, if you’d like other veggies besides potato and onion, throw it in there! You could use celery, zucchini, yellow squash- anything that will be nice and chunky! Eat your veggies!

kielbasa recipe 1

kielbasa crockpot

kielbasa recipe 2

No, really, have a beer with it.

kielbasa 2

3 Comments Add yours

  1. hollycgodbey says:

    This sounds so good and easy! And thanks for adding the gram to ounce conversion. 😉

    1. Thank you! I know grams can really scare some people away :p

Leave a Reply

